Twessay No. 1 – “Openness” – A Critical Response

The thing that struck me the most while reading through each of the Twessays that my peers composed was how diverse each and every single one of them was. While they were all based around the same heading, each person took their own approach to the subject at hand; some were humourous trying to bring light to the situation without being too heavy while some people took the more serious approach, demanding open access for all. Overall, I enjoyed each of these approaches and I will continue on in this post to discuss examples of each.

While reading through the catalogue of our tweets on Storify, I found the ones that caught my eye the most were the ones that included photographs such as Cathal Deasy’s Twessay (Deasy, 2015) which gave a serious view of the topic we were discussing while also, adding a humourous aspect when including the Doge meme which tied his tweet together as a whole. I particularly liked where he said “Encouragecreativitynot money” as I feel that this encapsulated what the idea of openness is all about. Another Tweet where humour was used to highlight the person’s argument was in Luke Crowley’s Twessay (Crowley, 2015). Luke used another popular meme, based around Jimmy McMillan and his famous quote “The Rent is Too Damn High!” (Youtube, 2015), which which while using this meme highlighted the high price of academic journals to people not within an academic framework. I found the use of this meme to be rather satirical adding a layer of ridiculousness to idea that academic findings should have to be paid for in the first place. I found these two examples both to be captivating while also getting their point across.

While humour can be helpful in highlighting certain topics, I find that going about the topic in a more serious manner is the way to go at times. This is the approach I took within my own Twessay, where I said that I believe that all knowledge should not be held by a small group of corporations but instead as “more of a cooperative structure” where knowledge is shared by everyone, for everyone. I feel that no one, no matter what race, gender, or socio-economic background they come from, should have restricted access to knowledge they need to grow as people. One of the more serious Tweets that I enjoyed reading was Kasia Sobiech’s Twessay (Sobiech, 2015), as I felt she dealt with the topic in a very concise way while also getting her point across very well. I liked the way she included that people need open access “wherever they are” as this highlights the lack of access to knowledge in other countries, especially in the third world where some of our greatest scholars may be but cannot reach their full potential without this access. I also enjoyed her demand that “we all need open access!”, as it really drove the point home.

Concisely, I found it fascinating how everyone who wrote about the topic of “Openness” in their Twessays could come up with such diverse points in only 140 characters.

Bibliography;

  • Crowley, L. 14 October 2015. Available at; https://twitter.com/LukeJohnCrowley/status/654409956368744448 [Accessed 21 October 2015]
  • Deasy, C. 15 October 2015. Available at; https://twitter.com/deasy2306/status/654589971731509248 [Accessed 21 October 2015]
  • Sobiech, K. 13 October 2015. Available at; https://twitter.com/KasiaSobiech182/status/654033359748878336 [Accessed 21 October 2015]
  • Twitter1.jpg. (2015). [image] Available at; http://www.trafficoptimiser.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/03/Twitter1.jpg [Accessed 21 October 2015]
  • Youtube. (2015). Rent Is Too Damn High Party Debate.Available at; https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kcsNbQRU5TI [Accessed 21 October 2015]
Leave a Reply

